Walking with Jesus (Luke 24:13-35)

Walking With Jesus 01

What do you reckon it would be like to go for a walk with Jesus?

I don’t mean some sort of ‘spiritual’ journey or having a vague idea that Jesus is with us. I mean a real, physical, one-foot-in-front-of-the-other walk. It might be down the road to the shops, through a national park, a couple of blocks to work, or even around the block. What would it be like to walk with Jesus?

It surprises me that the two disciples didn’t recognise Jesus while he walked with them in this story. There are a range of ways people try to explain their lack of recognition, but I wonder how often we go through life with Jesus walking next to us and we just don’t recognise him either…

This story is a great picture of what it means to be a disciple of Jesus: walking with him through life and recognising that he walks with us. As they walked together, Jesus and the disciples talked together as he opened up the words of Scripture for them so they could understand that God’s chosen Messiah had to suffer, die and rise again from the grave (vv 25-27). This caused the disciples hearts to burn within them (v32) as they grew in their understanding of God’s grace for them and as they began to make sense of what had happened to them through their growing faith in Jesus.

What if walking with Jesus and listening to him as he opens up God’s word for us could do the same for us?

There was a time in the early years of my ministry when I was really struggling. For more than a year I battled on the best I could but things were overwhelming me. So I started getting out of bed and going for a walk each morning. As I walked, I would talk to Jesus about what was going on in my life – the things I was struggling with, the things that were overwhelming me, the mistakes I was making, the help I needed. I didn’t talk out loud, but it was still a real conversation as I talked with Jesus in my head. Then I listened to what Jesus had to say to me by reading a couple chapters of my Bible over breakfast. I was surprised how often what I was reading would speak into what was going on in my life. Over time, things got better as I relied on Jesus’ help more and more, and God changed me through what he was saying to me in his Word. I learned from first-hand experience that walking closer with Jesus by talking to him about what’s going on in our lives and listening to him talk to us through his word really makes a difference in our lives.

The promise of this story from Luke’s gospel is that Jesus walks with us to talk to us through his word, to help us make sense of what’s going on in our lives through his suffering, death and resurrection, so we can find grace, hope and joy in his presence with us.

It was only when Jesus blessed and broke the bread at their meal at the end of the day that the disciples recognised Jesus. In the same way, Jesus makes his presence known to us as he gives himself to us in the breaking of bread in the meal we know as the Lord’s Supper or Holy Communion. This same Jesus whose body was broken and whose blood was shed on the cross, this same Jesus who is risen from the grace and who has defeated death, this same Jesus is the one who comes to us in the bread and wine of Holy Communion to make himself known to us as the one who physically walks with us through life. Just as the disciples recognised Jesus when he gave them that meal, so we can recognise Jesus with us as he gives himself to us as a real and present flesh and blood person in the Lord’s Supper. It is his promise and his assurance that he literally walks with us through the ups and downs of our lives, through the good times and the bad, to help us find grace and peace, joy and hope in his presence with us.

So I’m going to ask again: what would it be like to go for a walk with Jesus? How might our lives and our community be different if we lived like Jesus was actually walking with us, speaking grace and truth into our lives, our relationships and our community through his word?

Because what this story says to me is that Jesus really is walking with us, every step of the way.

More to think about:

  • What do you think it would be like to go for a walk with Jesus?
  • Christians often talk about Jesus being with us, but do we live like that’s a reality or like Jesus is actually distant? One way to think about that is ask yourself: would you live your life differently if Jesus was actually walking with you every moment of every day?
  • In the story from Luke 24, Jesus began his conversation with the two disciples by asking them what they were discussing (v17). If Jesus asked you what was going on with you, what would you say to him?
  • Jesus opened up Scripture to his disciples to help them understand God’s plan of redemption, but also to help them make sense of what they had experienced & to find God’s grace in their experiences. Do you think that God’s word can help you make sense of your experiences & find his grace in them? How can we help you open up God’s word to find grace & truth for your own life in it?
  • Jesus made himself known to the disciples as he blessed, broke & then gave bread to them. How can the gift of Holy Communion help us recognise Jesus’ presence with us?
Leave a Reply

